Derek Dick And His Amazing Electric Bear

Battleside Ltd, released June 1993
Re-released by Voiceprint (Chocolate Frogs Record Co) April 2001, CFVP003

2 CDs
UK : FIS 003
USA: Griffin GN 1031-2

Haddington Corn Exchange, 3rd November 1991 (1st Company Scotland convention)
CD 1 (57:51):
01. Vigil in a Wilderness of Mirrors [Dick/Simmonds]
02. Credo [Dick/Simmonds/Boult/Usher]
03. State Of Mind [Dick/Simmonds/Lindes]
Intro, a bit bitter really - but what did you expect, sorry RP!
04. Tongues [Dick/Simmonds/Boult/Usher]
05. Family Business [Dick/Simmonds/Lindes]
The headphones explanation and the graveyard visit
06. Incubus [Dick/Rothery/Kelly/Trewavas/Mosley]
07. Shadowplay [Dick/Simmonds]
Where do we go from here?

CD 2 (62:42):
30+ intro
08. Dear Friend [Dick/Boult/Simmonds]
Bah bah black sheep lyric "Gizzabun" a hearty beer barrel version with dodgy ending
09. Lucky [Dick/Boult/Simmonds]
Vallium paced 'Faith Healer intro'
10. Big Wedge [Dick/Simmonds]
'The front man's handbook'
11. Fugazi [Dick/Rothery/Kelly/Trewavas/Mosley]
12. Heart Of Lothian [Dick/Rothery/Kelly/Trewavas/Mosley]
Aargh get the singer - the flat one! 'the intro'
13. The Company [Dick/Simmonds]
14. Forgotten Sons [Dick/Pointer/Rothery/Kelly/Trewavas/Jelliman/Minnit]
Intro, the H.A.C.E.R. presentation, Kevin speaks and the radio ID
15. Internal Exile [Dick/Boult/Simmonds]
Slow but sure
16. Market Square Heroes [Dick/Pointer/Rothery/Kelly/Trewavas/Minnit]

Fish was the lead singer of the chart topping progressive rock band Marillion. With his powerful unique voice he has a gained an extensive following and fanbase since commencing his solo career. This recording was made at the Haddington Corn Exchange in 1991 and carries on from where 'For Whom the Bells Toll' left off. 'Derek Dick and His Amazing Electric Bear' is the big man caught performing his great songs from both his solo career and the Marillion period. The atmosphere of this concert was described by Fish as 'sweaty' and his own mood was garrulous which made for a memorable evening. All Fish's chat has been left in which adds to the interest of this recording especially as it becomes quite personal due to the intimacy of the venue. The line up consisted of Fish (vocals), Frank Usher (Guitar), Robin Boult (Guitar), David Paton (Bass), Mickey Simmonds (keyboards) and Kevin Wilkinson (drums). David Paton played with Pilot and featured on Kate Bush's first two albums and has also worked with Rick Wakeman. Mickey Simmonds has worked with Mike Oldfield and Kevin Wilkinson has played with China Crisis and Squeeze. This is the first time that this recording is available to the record buying public and offers great value, a double CD priced as a single. Artist Shop newsletter, April 2001

Site content ©1981-2012 Derek W. Dick/Fish. Artwork ©1983-2012 Mark Wilkinson.
Text, images, sound clips and code may not be copied without permission. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions apply
Chocolate Frog Record Company Ltd. registered office: 6th Floor, New Baltic House, 65 Fenchurch St., London EC3M 4BE. Company No. 04007392