Chocolate Frog Records, released 3rd May 2001
Double CD, recorded live at the Zamek Centre of Culture, Poznan, Poland, 3rd October 1999 and broadcast live by Radio Merkury, Poznan.



01. Faith Healer (05:09) [Harvey/McKenna/Cleminson]
02. Lucky (04:33) [Dick/Boult/Simmonds]
03. Just Good Friends (06:18) [Dick/Usher/Boult/Simmonds]
04. Brother 52 (06:32) [Dick/Wilson]
05. Goldfish & Clowns (08:13) [Dick/Wilson]
06. Hotel Hobbies (04:22) [Dick/Rothery/Kelly/Mosley/Trewavas]
07. Warm Wet Circles (04:19) [Dick/Rothery/Kelly/Mosley/Trewavas]
08. That Time Of The Night (06:18) [Dick/Rothery/Kelly/Mosley/Trewavas]
09. Tumbledown (05:49) [Dick/Simmonds]
10. Intro: Riff-Raff the wine waiter! (01:37)
Total Time 54:48

01. Plague of Ghosts (28:42) [Dick/Turrell/Daghorn]
  (i) Old Haunts
  (ii) Digging Deep
  (iii) Chocolate Frogs
  (iv) Waving at Stars
  (v) Raingods Dancing
  (vi) Wake-up Call (Make It Happen)
02. Cliché (07:04) [Dick/Simmonds/Lindes]
03. Perception of Johnny Punter (03:21) [Dick/Wilson]
04. Sunsets on Empire (10:11) [Dick/Wilson]
05. The Company (05:35) [Dick/Simmonds]
Total Time 54:58

Lead voice: Fish
Backing Vocals: Elizabeth Troy Antwi
Lead and acoustic guitars: John Wesley
Bass: Steve Vantsis
Drums: Dave Stewart
Keyboards: Tony Turrell

After a long wait, at last 'Sashimi' was released, a live Fish CD, counterpart of the earlier live release 'Sushi'. The release of 'Sashimi' came together with the album 'Fellini Days'. Commercially this wasn't seen as clever, but the release of 'Sashimi' was planned six months before. Fish was not satisfied with the quality of the recordings, so he had to pick others and that's what caused the delay.
The longer the wait, the better the reward and a lot of fans find 'Sushi' the best live CD of Fish's. So the expectations of 'Sashimi' were high - were they justified?
In my opinion they are. One of my favorite Fish songs is 'Plague of Ghosts'. You can also find this song on the Issue 30 fan club CD and the official bootleg 'Candlelight in Fog', but on both CDs the performances are less than on 'Sashimi'. Fish's voice on this new disk, which was recorded in Poznan (Poland) in 1999, is great. The performance is so good that I thought that maybe there had been some 'repairing' in the studio, but the sleeve-notes say that 'this recording contains no overdubs', so that negates those thoughts. Another performance which I like is of 'Warm Wet Circles' as well as the last track on the first CD: 'Riff Raff - the wine waiter' is a sweety. The other songs are good, but not surprising. I have heard better versions of some of them on other live CDs (like the beautiful, powerful but slow 'Faithhealer' on the 'BBC Sessions' CD; the 'Sashimi' performance is a very fast one).
'Sashimi' does not contain much overlap with 'Sushi'. You only will find 'Lucky' and 'Cliché' on this new CD, as well as - of course - 'The Company', the song which Fish often uses to finish his gigs and this CD as well.
Marianne Timmer, July 2001

Site content ©1981-2012 Derek W. Dick/Fish. Artwork ©1983-2012 Mark Wilkinson.
Text, images, sound clips and code may not be copied without permission. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions apply
Chocolate Frog Record Company Ltd. registered office: 6th Floor, New Baltic House, 65 Fenchurch St., London EC3M 4BE. Company No. 04007392